User Login

Back Medical Board of Advisors
  • Prediman K. (PK) Shah, M.D.
    Director, Division of Cardiology, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
    Director, Oppenheimer Atherosclerosis Research Center at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
Prediman K. (PK) Shah, MD is Director of the Division of Cardiology at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center. He also is the Director of the Oppenheimer Atherosclerosis Research Center at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center where he leads several studies that focus on heart disease prevention and treatment. Dr. Shah also holds the Shapell and Webb Family Endowed Chair in Cardiology at Cedars-Sinai.

Dr. Shah has been Professor of Medicine at the David Geffen School of Medicine at the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) since 1992. In the early 1990s, he worked in the cardiovascular research laboratory at the Massachusetts General Hospital of the Harvard Medical School in Boston.

In 1992, Dr. Shah and his colleagues began studying a mutant gene that was found in a small number of inhabitants of a northern Italian town. Compared to the normal gene (apolipoprotein A-1), the mutant gene (apo A-1 Milano) produces a form of HDL (high-density lipoprotein or "good" cholesterol) that provides greater protection against atherosclerosis and vascular inflammation - processes that lead to clogged arteries, heart attacks, and strokes. Dr. Shah's work with the Apo A-I Milano protein was the subject of CBS' 60 Minutes in1994 and 1995.

In 2005, Dr. Shah reported that transfer of the apo A-1 Milano gene itself - not just the protein - had been accomplished, also with favorable results. Animal studies conducted in Dr. Shah's laboratory and the laboratory of Dr. Shah's longtime collaborator, Swedish scientist Dr. Jan Nilsson, found that a vaccine created from the low-density lipoprotein (LDL, or "bad" cholesterol) molecule significantly reduced plaque buildup in animals that had high cholesterol levels. Experimental studies on this novel Vaccine for Heart Disease continue and human studies are planned within the next few years. Dr. Shah is the immediate past- president of the American Heart Association (AHA) - Western States Affiliate and a member of the AHA-Western Regional Board. He is also a member of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Larry King Cardiac Foundation and serves as the National Chairman of the Entertainment Industry Foundation's National Cardiovascular Research Initiative (NCRI), which was launched in 2001. He is a member of the Recombinant DNA Advisory Committee (RAC) of the National Institutes of Health and serves on the Data Safety Monitoring Board of the Cell and Gene Therapy Trials of the National Heart Lung and Blood Institute of the NIH. He was also elected to the European Academy of Sciences.

Dr. Shah has edited three books on heart disease and published more than 550 scientific papers, reviews, book chapters and abstracts. He serves on the editorial boards of the peer-reviewed journals: Circulation, American Journal of Cardiology, Journal of the American College of Cardiology, Arteriosclerosis, Thrombosis and Vascular Biology, International Journal of Heart Failure, Indian Heart Journal, Journal of Preventive Cardiology, Reviews in Cardiovascular Medicine, Current Cardiology Reports, and Journal of Cardiovascular Pharmacology and Therapeutics.

Dr. Shah is a fellow of the American College of Cardiology (ACC), the American College of Physicians, and the American College of Chest Physicians. He has been a member of the ACC's Annual Scientific Program Committee and he has co-chaired the Clinical Cardiology (ClinCard) Spotlight sessions.

He has won numerous awards, including the Gifted Teacher Award from the American College of Cardiology, an Excellence in Teaching Award from the dean of the UCLA School of Medicine, and two Golden Apple Awards from the school's senior medical students. In October 2007, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center awarded Dr. Shah the Pioneer in Medicine Award, the highest award given at the Medical Center. In 2008, he received the annual distinguished teaching award from the Cardiology Fellows at Cedars Sinai. Also in 2008, Dr Shah received two very prestigious awards from the American Heart Association during its annual scientific sessions in New Orleans: The James B Herrick Award and The Laennec Society Lectureship Award.

Dr. Shah joined the medical center's Department of Cardiology staff in 1977 as attending cardiologist, and was named director of Radionuclide Research on the Coronary Care Unit, a post he held until 1984. From 1979 to 1984, Shah served as director of NIH-sponsored Clinical Core of Specialized Center of Research (SCOR) at Cedars-Sinai. He was principal investigator of a study funded by a National Institutes of Health SCOR grant for the application of radionuclides in the evaluation of acute myocardial infarction. He was named chairman of the fourth-year student cardiology training program in 1980, a position he held until 1997. From 1980 until 1995, he served as director of the inpatient cardiology and coronary care units.

Dr. Shah received his premedical degree from Sri Pratap College in his hometown of Srinagar, Kashmir, India. He also received his medical degree from Medical College in Srinagar and completed an internship at SMHS Hospital before moving on to New Delhi's All India Institute of Medical Sciences for a residency in neurology. Following an internship at Mount Sinai Hospital in Milwaukee, Dr. Shah completed two more residencies in internal medicine - one at Mount Sinai in Milwaukee and the other at Montefiore Hospital of Albert Einstein College of Medicine in New York. After a fellowship in cardiology at Albert Einstein College of Medicine-Montefiore, Medical Center, he came to Cedars-Sinai Medical Center in 1976 and completed a research fellowship in cardiology the following year. He was named director of the medical center's Cardiovascular Fellowship Training Program in 1988 and director of the Atherosclerosis Research Center in 1993. He has held the Shapell and Webb Family Endowed Chair in Cardiology since 1990 and has served as director of the Division of Cardiology since 1995.